All fields are required.

Close Appointment form

Dr Jose E. Sarria

After 10 years as Chief of the Pain Medicine Service at Moffitt Cancer Center, Dr. Sarria founded The Peregrine Institute in Wesley Chapel, Florida in order to fulfill the growing need in the community for comprehensive Pain and Symptom Management of Cancer patients as well as Chronic Pain patients.

Dr Jose E. Sarria

Board-Certified Pain Medicine and Palliative Care physician.

Dr. Jose E. Sarria is a Board-Certified Pain Medicine and Palliative Care physician. Previously he was Chief of the Interventional Pain Medicine Service at Moffitt Cancer Center. He is also an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Neurology and Oncologic Sciences at the University Of South Florida Morsani College Of Medicine.

His main academic goal is to educate in Pain Medicine. This specialty is very young and vibrant but suffers from lack in direction with undefined practitioners creating uncertainty about its true benefit and role.  Dr. Sarria’s goal has been to be a part of the advancement of the specialty, particularly through the proper education of physicians at a Fellowship level.  As a dedicated advocate for his patients, Dr. Sarria recognized that the long-lasting effects of chemotherapy, biotherapies, surgeries, and radiation have initiated a new set of cancer ailments long after the cancer has gone into remission or has been eradicated. These survivorship pain issues require pain physicians that are specialized in treating these conditions. He founded the Peregrine Institute to provide patients specialized cancer pain treatment.  His facility is designed to invest in the future of pain relieving techniques and breakthrough treatments. Fluent in both English and Spanish, Dr. Sarria received his medical degree from Central University of Venezuela.  He then completed a General Surgery Internship at Brown University School of Medicine and a Residency in Anesthesiology at the University of South Florida.  Dr. Sarria pursued advanced training through a Pain Medicine Fellowship at Johns Hopkins University.